Lauren Foulkes

Lauren Foulkes graduated with a  fine art degree in painting. She recurrently uses drawing,  painting and collage but has recently added a three dimensional element to her work. I like how she incorporates the ‘fairy tail’ aspect into her work as it shares a similarity with the lies the media puts out there to show what women are supposed to be

“The themes I explore in my work, ideas surrounding pretence and reality. I am interested in make-believe, fairy tale culture, childhood memory and the transition of innocence. I am intrigued with what fairy tales convey and how they achieve it. How make believe can reflect reality and vice versa. A wolf dressed in ladies clothing creates an image that holds both contradiction and danger, it is the oddity of the situation that appeals. I am attracted to the tension created when fear, comedy, comfort and awkwardness come together”

Leave a comment